Sonya's Patates Braavos: Edition #11 šŸ’ŒšŸ„”

Week of April 22nd: taxes, Persian food, drinks and drapes

TLDR: taxes, Persian food, drinks and drapes

welcome note šŸ‘‹ 

Hello, brave patates! Today I enjoyed warm weather in Ottawa (call-back to cold suffering last Sunday), cleaned my entire balcony, and then sat down and finished a 350+ page book in one go šŸ˜‚ Harlan Cobenā€™s ā€œJust One Lookā€ was gripping, enthralling, and a total page-turner. His shows on Netflix, ā€œThe Stranger,ā€ ā€œSafe,ā€ and ā€œFool Me Onceā€ are also fantastic.

Anyway, what was your #BravePatate moment of the week?

Hit reply to this email to answer!

random cool things corner

  • See: Apparently, magnolia have begun blooming at Ottawaā€™s Arboretum so I want to see.

  • Eat: Ottawaā€™s Play Food & Wine is a delightful fine dining experience. For $49, you get two ā€œsmall platesā€ but they are not that small and are, in fact, very filling. I had gnocchi with German sausage, mustard, and extra blue cheese as per my request.

  • Eat 2: Aylaā€™s Social Kitchen is an amazing Persian restaurant in Ottawaā€™s Little Italy. The pulled lamb with pomegranate was amazing, and the pomegranate martini was too.

  • Watch: I started watching The Kardashians on Disney+ and itā€™s so good. I also returned to watching My Unorthodox Life on Netflix and I love it (how Julia Haart left an ultra-Orthodox Jewish community and completely changed her and her kidsā€™ lives). Extremism and fundamentalism of any form are awful, and for some reason, particularly awful to womenā€¦

business updates

  • I am doing a lot of organizational work at Apt613. Itā€™s an award-winning hyperlocal arts and culture non-profit. Weā€™re always looking for more writers if you are interested in covering a wide variety of cool Ottawa events, from glassblowing and theatre to books, art, and music.

  • I wrote a new piece for Telfer, interviewing Kathryn Tremblay, a successful entrepreneur who founded excelHR and Altis Recruitment. Her team is now looking it over. I used to take writing edits super personally but now I know itā€™s not about me as a writer, but about the image the company wants to portray online. (And I charge extra for demanding clients šŸ˜‡ )

  • Because Iā€™m self-employed, I pay taxes in installments. This makes sense because I pay them in the year I earn income. CRA also does that so I donā€™t keep the chunks of money and earn interest on them during the year. Anyway, I did all my instalments and thought Iā€™d get a refund and then I ended up owing moreā€¦ I donā€™t earn six figures and Iā€™m taxed 24%ā€¦ Not very motivating for small businesses in Canada and I donā€™t quite understand what I get for my tax money besides OHIP and paying government workersā€™ salaries. Now if I lived in the Cayman Islands and also didnā€™t have to bear the Canadian winterā€¦

ā­ļø subscriber feature ā­ļø

ā€œDrinks and Drapesā€ combines fabric draping and great visual charts to help participants identify their best colours. The event kicks off with a fun, interactive activity and participants go home with personalized colour swatches. Drinks and snacks are included. Drinks and Drapes is a private event, during which participants are welcome to shop the large selection of vintage and second-hand clothes and accessories. 

Dates: Friday, May 10 and Saturday, June 15
Location: Bee You Creative Styles, 323 Somerset St. East in Sandy Hill
Time: 5:30 - 7:30 pm
Price: $40 
Contact [email protected] to book.

If you got this far, thanks for reading ā¤ļø cooked something yummy? lmk. went to a cool event or read a fun book? lmk. see you on the flip side šŸ„”

šŸ“¬ ICYMI, you can read past newsletter editions here. Enjoying your time here? Forward to others! Was this newsletter forwarded to you? Subscribe below for a weekly newsletter delivered at random times every Sunday.