Sonya's Patates Braavos: Edition #13 šŸ’ŒšŸ„”

Week of May 6th: Eurovision, pre-vacation prep & ultimate packing

TLDR: Eurovision, pre-vacation prep & ultimate packing

welcome note šŸ‘‹ 

Hello, brave patates! šŸ„” Hope you are having a nice Motherā€™s day, and sending you love if itā€™s a hard day for you ā¤ļø 

Just one last ā€œnormalā€ edition before the vacay newsletters. Maybe I should tell you where weā€™re going šŸ˜‚ Itā€™s Spain! šŸ‡ŖšŸ‡ø The birthplace of Patates Bravas!!! Weā€™re starting off in Madrid. Tune in next Sunday (and on insta) to see what we get up to.

Anyway, what was your #BravePatate moment of the week?

Hit reply to this email to answer!

random cool things corner

  • See: My mom and I walked to Old Town, Toronto, and made it to the Distillery District, which is all decorated with Mardi Gras colours and masks except itā€™s not Mardi Gras season so idk? BUT we got two free fat chocolates from Aero for some reason and that was nice. Love me some free stuff.

  • Eat: For our one-year anniversary, David made steak on his cast iron pan and it was delicious and so fast! Something about the cast ironsā€¦

  • Watch: Iā€™m watching a perfectly stupid dramedy ā€œWhite Goldā€ on Netflix. You get Ed Westwick (yes, Chuck Bass from Gossip Girl), dry British humour, and unhinged shenanigans.

  • Read: my interview with Ceasar Rosa of U-Rock Cafe (Ottawa).

  • Pack: after getting my Canadian passport in 2022 (traveling with a Russian passport is bad times), Iā€™ve done a good bit of traveling and finally perfected my packing. I ONLY bring a carry-on even if Iā€™m going for three weeks (because itā€™s easier, faster, and Europe has an ungodly amount of stairs). Therefore, a capsule wardrobe is key. This time, I managed to pack the following:

  • Wool pants, cotton pants, wool cardigan, white dress shirt, black linen shirt, two shorts, two dresses, romper, tank tops, t-shirts, bathing suits, beach cover-up, flip flops, sandals, ballet flats. Then I have my backpack too, with two umbrellas for me and David, medicine pouch, book, snacks, waterbottle carrier, backup t-shirts, hat, laptop, planner, power bank, toiletries. The key is for the clothes to mix and match (and to roll). Between everything I have about 20 outfit options, including layering. Oh, and Iā€™m wearing jeans, running shoes, a sweater, and a fur vest on the plane šŸ˜‚

business updates

  • Iā€™ll be doing the big Telfer Awards project for the third year in a row! I interview prominent alumni receiving awards and write their stories. Thatā€™s how I met Roger Greenberg (who introduced me to AVI and hired me himself).

  • Waiting to hear back from other opportunities in the pipeline. On vacation, I will still be doing a bit of work here and there. Iā€™m not really at that stage of my self-employment that I can fully unplug lol. Sure itā€™d be nice but also if I stop working so does my business. A bit of maintenance will give me peace of mind.

ā­ļø subscriber feature ā­ļø

I was privileged to attend McGill in the 1980s ā€“ a time in history when it was perfectly safe and acceptable to be Jewish there.

You see, from the 1920s through to the late 1960s, McGill had a limit or "quota" on the number of Jews that could attend. For decades, McGill also set higher grade requirements for Jews to enter the university than for non-Jews as a way to discourage their attendance.

It's 2024 and, once again, the McGill campus is not a safe and welcoming space for Jews. This breaks my heart.
ā€”Leah Geller, B.Sc, McGill, 1985

Relevant video from Anthony Housefather interviewing students: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xl0RUpziwms

Speaking of Jews, even though Eden Golanā€™s performance was booed (at a music contest called ā€œunited for musicā€), even though this 20-year-old girl had a mob of 20,000 people screaming outside her hotel and would 100% kill her, and needed a convoy of 100 armed vehicles to protect her, even though the Irish witch (whom the Irish started a petition against representing them in Eurovision) refused to room next to herā€¦ She came in 5th. Even though no countries voted for her in the professional jury. She got one of the highest public votes in the history of Eurovision, including a good amount of European countries. And finished just one position above Ireland. Heh.

If you got this far, thanks for reading ā¤ļø cooked something yummy? lmk. went to a cool event or read a fun book? lmk. see you on the flip side šŸ„” 
- xoxo, gossip girl

šŸ“¬ ICYMI, you can read past newsletter editions here. Enjoying your time here? Forward to others! Was this newsletter forwarded to you? Subscribe below for a weekly newsletter delivered at random times every Sunday.