Sonya's Patates Braavos: Edition #31 ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿฅ”

MTL

TLDR: MTL

welcome ๐Ÿ‘‹ 

Hello, brave patates! ๐Ÿฅ” What was something brave you did this week? Lmk!

Post-vacation blues

Idk how about you but this one week of September has been so busy and hecticโ€ฆ whether corridor of eclipses or mercury retrograde or something electromagnetic, I've heard how many people felt down and lacked energy.

After barely surviving this week, David and I set out on a new adventure. After moving houses during childhood multiple times I never imagined I'd continue the nomad lifestyle today ๐Ÿ˜‚ we drove to Montreal from Toronto which felt like it took forever (7 hours with stops).

We checked into Warwick Crystal, a nice hotel downtown with a hot tub and pool. Overall, I'd recommend, even if some finishes aren't what they used to be. We chose this hotel to be close to our concert tonight.

Which I thought was at the Bell Centre. Except I randomly checked yesterday and learned it was in Place Bellโ€ฆ in Laval. A 30 minute subway away. Because we can't name stadiums other things in Canada ๐Ÿ™ƒ anyway the subway in MTL is great.

Yesterday, we went to Time Out Market where I had oysters and pizza and David had a poke bowl. It's a cool food court with everything from American bbq to Haitian and Caribbean fusion. (my MTL maps list)

This morning, we went to a cute cat cafe, the museum of Montreal Jews, and to Falafel Yoni, a delicious Israeli takeout spot with authentic pitas, creamy tahini, and great falafel. Then we rested, went to sauna+pool+tub and then subwayed to the concert - German heavy metal band called Powerwolf. Best crowd work I've seen, awesome costumes and makeup, and the crowd itself was energetic. Check them out if you like opera, werewolves, and fantasy.

Tomorrow it's back to Ottawa, I'm sending 2 new estimates to potential new clients, and continuing my fall denial.

If you got this far, thanks for reading โค๏ธ cooked something yummy? lmk. went to a cool event or read a fun book? lmk. see you on the flip side ๐Ÿฅ” 

- xoxo, gossip girl

๐Ÿ“ฌ ICYMI, you can read past newsletter editions here. Enjoying your time here? Forward to others! Was this newsletter forwarded to you? Subscribe below for a weekly newsletter delivered at random times every Sunday.