Sonya's Patates Braavos: Edition #21 💌🥔

Week of July 1: tv, $4 tacos downtown Toronto and camping

TLDR: TV, $4 tacos downtown Toronto & camping

welcome 👋 

Hello, brave patates! 🥔 did you think I forgot?! NOPE. Coming off a drive from Toronto to Ottawa and an overdose of sunlight, I am still here, in your inbox.

Yesterday I went to Yoga With Adriene in person live class in Toronto. I still can't believe that happened. It was her first ever time in Canada and first live class since pre-2020. There were 2000 people. I was not prepared for doing 90 minutes of yoga in beaming 11am sunlight and 30 degrees. But it was amazing. So many endorphins. I've been doing her free classes on YouTube for 4 years. They've helped me become toned and fit, as opposed to skinny but not in shape. Strong. They've helped with my mental health. She has classes for depression. For writers. For periods. For anything. Yoga for golfers? Yup. Equestrians? You bet. It was on my life's bucket list to see a class with her live. Thought I'd have to go to Austin, Texas where she lives. But she came here instead 🥲 this was my SuperBowl and wedding all at once. It's so surreal to see someone like that in person in front of you.

Watch: over on the TV side, I've been binge watching The Gift: a Turkish mystery drama about parallel realities and archeology. Makes you think about your past (or present) other lives. David and I are also watching s3 of Barbecue Showdown and are very inspired to make (or more likely eat) brisket. Other shows on my list are: Owning Manhattan - anyone watching it? - and the new season of too hot to handle 😂

Eat: Añejo in downtown Toronto has a happy hour everyday even weekends! From 3-5pm and there are $4 tacos and $7 margaritas... Authentic and great service. Unbeatable prices in this economy.

This weekend: we're going camping at Voyageur park! I've been going car camping for years and David does backcountry. This is our first time camping together. Let's pray we can put up a tent and not get divorced 😂 pretty stoked to eat shashlik (Russian marinated meat kebabs) over the fire! Hopefully with some smoke flavours.

Work: is in full swing with Telfer, with monthly articles. Last year they paid me a lump sum in the fall after a summer of work and this year I asked for monthly instead and they agreed no problem. Goes to show, if you don't ask, you don't get. Closed mouths don't get fed.

Exponential coaching studying is in full swing too: we're learning about how our personality isn't whole, it's made of sub personalities (parts) which developed as defense mechanisms - your avoidant part, for example, seeks to remove you from a stressful situation so you don't feel that anymore. But today when we're growing and not just surviving, these are maladaptive. Out of avoidance, we're too scared to start things or try something new, even if it'll lead to greatness. Our sub personality takes over and we identify with it. It's like saying “I'm depressed.” A way to not identify with it is to do what Indigenous people do. They say “today, depression walks with me.” it's a way to visualize your feelings as separate from you. Because in reality, your sub personalities (there are 6) take over. Thinking thoughts. Doing actions. Sometimes we don't even agree with what we do. Because our true self is not in charge. Our soul isn't in charge. Our fears, usually from deep old places, are. Operating us like drones. One way is to start noticing them. The goal is to be in the role of the observer (you might have heard this in meditation). Your thoughts aren't facts… If you lashed out at your partner and then feel guilty, that's two of your sub personalities fighting each other. A better way is to approach your sub personalities with curiosity: where did this come from? Why did I react this way? Where else do I think the same thoughts and do the same actions? Is there a pattern here? How can I show compassion to myself and identify a need hiding behind this lashing out? Usually that's our inner child seeking connection and love. But another part takes over and we create distance instead. That's a big part of coaching, helping you to identify which parts are acting and what metaprograms (there are 18) they're connected to. I'll be taking on my first client soon, to take through structured 30 sessions as I complete my 8 month training. I already know how to do a free introductory session so if you're interested to see what it's all about and explore more afterwards, reach out.

If you got this far, thanks for reading ❤️ cooked something yummy? lmk. went to a cool event or read a fun book? lmk. see you on the flip side 🥔 

- xoxo, gossip girl

📬 ICYMI, you can read past newsletter editions here. Enjoying your time here? Forward to others! Was this newsletter forwarded to you? Subscribe below for a weekly newsletter delivered at random times every Sunday.